Remembering, remembering

Something which often intrigues me in my own day to day life is the point when I remember a dream, almost like a little flash back that occurs out of nowhere often leaving me questioning whether or  not this occurrence actually happened or if it really was just a dream.

My earliest recollection of this as a child was one day I was outside helping my Granny in the garden when I suddenly saw this image of myself rolling around in sand (which was falling from the sky), the memory was so powerful that I just couldn’t figure it out. When I asked my Granny – ‘if sand ever fell from the sky’ to my surprise she answered YES; however, this was only one rare occasion when the wind blew sand from the Sahara or something. I don’t think I had ever been told about the Sahara thing so it was probably just a coincidence but it really set me thinking about how much of our dreams are influenced by things that we have heard and saw, and the official answer is of course every detail, but my dreams have been filled with so much randomness and mystery that I often wonder where on earth my brain got it from.

For me when I look back and try to remember dreams I’ve had in the past, I often remember the point I remembered them. The point of remembering is usually  just as random as the dream itself, sometimes when I am in the shower, sometimes adding sugar to my morning coffee, and sometimes not until I try to fall asleep the following evening.

The following are a few photos inspired by the times which I remember, remembering a dream (mostly during making tea or coffee, guess it does make you  more alert)

Processed with VSCO with p5 preset
‘There was a fox chasing me through a massive building of beds ‘

This one I remembered on the phone, and ended up telling the entire dream to my sister on the other end.

Processed with VSCO with b1 preset
‘One of the usual falling ones, were you wake up terrified’

Maybe there was some correlation with the falling sugar that made me remember?

Processed with VSCO with p5 preset
‘ I couldn’t find my dog anywhere, even though she was with me trying to find her the whole time’

 

Processed with VSCO with p5 preset
‘ Something about buying myself a birthday present’

 

 

 

Leave a comment